Richard L. Tucker Leadership & Service Award

The Richard L. Tucker Leadership & Service Award recognizes an individual who has contributed significantly to the advancement of the CII mission and to the success of CII as an organization. It is named in honor of Dr. Richard L. Tucker, who personally led the effort to create the Construction Industry Institute in 1983 and who served as the first CII Director from its inception until his retirement as Director in 1998.

The CII Executive Committee selects the award recipient. The award may be presented to a CII volunteer participant in CII programs or to an individual not affiliated with a member organization who otherwise meets the criteria for the award. The award is to be presented not more than once per year, and is to be presented only when a worthy candidate has been identified and selected.

Award Selection Criteria

The recipient must:
  • Be active in CII programs, while providing significant service to further the mission accomplishment of CII. Describe the nominee's contribution and how it has furthered the mission of CII.
  • Demonstrate ambassadorship and promotion of CII (e.g., to other organizations). Provide instances of ambassadorship by the nominee.
  • Have served as a mentor/advocate for other CII participants. (Please describe in detail.)
  • Have served within the institute for at least several years. (How many years has the nominee served within CII, and in which areas did he or she participate?)
  • Nominees cannot be part of the current or past CII staff.
Contact Us
Jenny A. Bien, Associate Director
(512) 232-3005
Submit a Nomination


G. Edward Gibson, Jr. (2022)

This “Father of PDRI” researched, developed, and taught some of CII's most popular tools for decades, taught at and led a string of world-class engineering schools, and won most CII awards along the way.

More Information on G. Edward Gibson, Jr.
Steve Cabano (2021)

Supportive leader who supported the idea of a wider industry alliance to position the engineering and construction industry for the future, and championed that intiaitive with CII and other leading groups.

More Information on Steve Cabano
Micheal Elliott (2019)

An able manager of projects of all sizes and a dedicated volunteer with the Institute, Elliott served as a mentor and leader to many and always emphasized that “great projects are built by a strong team of great people working together.”

More Information on Micheal Elliott
William O’Brien (2018)

An industry leader who has led and served others as a civil engineer, a start-up innovator during the early years of the Internet, a researcher, an educator, a supply-chain expert, and the interim Director of Fiatech as it returned to being part of CII

More Information on William O’Brien
William C. Beck (2017)

For his countless years of service to CII and dedication to improving this industry, we are quite proud to present the fourteenth Richard L. Tucker Award to Bill Beck.

More Information on William C. Beck
C. Jerome Eyink (2016)

CII selected C. Jerome Eyink as the thirteenth recipient of the Richard L. Tucker Leadership & Service Award. He was recognized for this honor at the 2016 CII Annual Conference in National Harbor, Maryland.

More Information on C. Jerome Eyink
Richard E. Hoffer (2015)

A 31-year employee with Chevron, Hoffer currently manages the company’s Project Execution Center of Expertise, stewarding Chevron’s project management intellectual property and providing project support and competency development.

More Information on Richard E. Hoffer
John E. Nobles (2014)

When asked, his employees at Burns & McDonnell describe him as a visionary leader, a patient manager, and a supportive mentor, and they link these virtues to his CII involvement.

More Information on John E. Nobles
Jesús M. de la Garza (2013)

Virginia Tech

More Information on Jesús M. de la Garza
Melissa Herkt (2012)

Emerson Process Management

More Information on Melissa Herkt
John W. Dalton, Sr. (2011)


More Information on John W. Dalton, Sr.
Bernard J. Fedak (2010)

Aker Solutions

More Information on Bernard J. Fedak
Paul Campbell (2009)

Mortenson Construction

More Information on Paul Campbell
James G. Slaughter, Jr. (2008)

S & B Engineers and Constructors, Ltd.

More Information on James G. Slaughter, Jr.
William W. Badger (2007)

Arizona State University

More Information on William W. Badger
James A. Scotti (2006)

Fluor Corporation

More Information on James A. Scotti
Gerald H. Greene (2005)

The Procter & Gamble Company

More Information on Gerald H. Greene
J. Kent Underwood (2004)

Solutia Inc.

More Information on J. Kent Underwood